Current News

University celebrates 163rd anniversary of charter; 44 students honored for scholarship, service and leadership

Posted by Samantha McClintock on Tue, Mar 19, 2013 @ 14:03 PM

Waynesburg University celebrated the 163rd anniversary of its charter by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Tuesday, March 19. The celebration was held in the University’s Roberts Chapel.

Introduced by Waynesburg University President Timothy R. Thyreen, the Rev. Dr. Robert Crilley, a 1956 graduate of Waynesburg University and former senior minister of the Fort Street Presbyterian Church in Detroit, Mich., served as the Charter Day speaker.Crilley Charter Day

Crilley began his Charter Day Convocation address, titled “Giving Praise through Faith, Learning and Serving,” with the expression that he wanted to praise God for what Waynesburg University has done for his mind, his faith and his purpose in life.

He described a deep commitment to Waynesburg, beginning even before his freshman year when he worked as a handy man for past Waynesburg University President Dr. Paul R. Stewart. Crilley went on to explain his passion for the University that stemmed from many learning opportunities from some of Waynesburg’s best known and most influential leaders, including current President Timothy R. Thyreen.

“I am grateful for the immense amount of spiritual oil [President Thyreen] has added to the lamp of this University,” Crilley said. “The flame of Jesus Christ glows brightly today, and will do so for generations to come, because of his inspired and dedicated leadership.”

He praised the work that Waynesburg’s students have accomplished over time through faith, learning and service.

Thyreen Charter Day“If faith and learning are the user names of Waynesburg University, then service has got to be its password,” Crilley said.  “Service is in the very DNA of this place.”

In his final message to the many attentive students, alumni, faculty and staff members and friends of the University, Crilley urged his audience to have faith in the Lord and in His plans.

“This world has become too dangerous a place for anything but peace, and too small a place for anything but love,” Crilley said. “And should you find yourself facing a high mountain, don't you be afraid of it. Move it by faith, tunnel through it with love, climb over it with prayer, but leave it behind you until, as the old hymn puts it, "at last His face you see."

In addition to Crilley’s address, Charter Day included a formal procession of faculty and special recognition of the 44 seniors in the Bonner Scholar, Honors Academy, Leadership Scholar and Stover Scholar programs at Waynesburg University.

The senior Waynesburg University students honored include:

Bonner Scholars

•    Olivia Bakke, a biology major from Monaca (Beaver County Christian School)
•    Brittney Bell, an elementary education major from Clarksville (Bethlehem Center High School)
•    Travis Fife, a history major from Washington (Chartiers-Houston High School)
•    Andrew Johnson, a history major from Highspire (Steelton-Highspire Junior-Senior High School)
•    Andrew Juntunen, a wellness and physiology major from Shingle Springs, Calif. (Home School)
•    Evan Kephart, a religious and philosophy major from Washington (Home School)
•    Robert Schultz, a creative writing major from New Florence (Ligonier Valley High School)
•    Frankie Shumaker, a history major from Newmarket, Va. (Home School)
•    Andrea Siciliano, a history major from Finleyville (Ringgold High School)
•    Angela Wadding, a journalism major from Dayton (West Shamokin Junior-Senior High School)
•    Daryn Wilkerson, a pre-physical therapy major from Donora (Mount De Chantal Academy)
•    Colin Wilson, an education and special education major from Lower Burrell (Burrell High School)

Honors Academy

•    Anthony Cooper, a pre-law major from Lewisburg (Lewisburg Area High School)
•    Emily Dubberke, an art major from Bridgeport, W.Va. (Bridgeport High Sdescribe the imagechool)
•    Ryan Marshall, a pre-law from New Salem (Albert Gallatin Area Senior High School)
•    Rachael Moon, an athletic training major from Brea, Calif. (Brea Olinda High School)                   
•    Karen Moyer, a pre-law major from Conneaut Lake (Conneaut Area Senior High School)
•    Tabitha Newman, a creative writing major from Alburtis (Salem Christian School)
•    Brianna Pierorazio, a nursing major from Baltimore, Md. (Loch Raven High School)
•    Emily Schubert, a psychology major from Medina, Ohio (Highland High School)
•    Auroara Singleton, a forensic science major from Summerville (Brookeville Area Junior-Senior High School)
•    Julie Tischer, a biology major from Vestal, N.Y. (Ross Corners Christian Academy)
•    Nathan Townsend, a computer forensics major from Masontown (Albert Gallatin Area Senior High School)
•    Heidi Weaver, a social science major from Denver (Lancaster Mennonite School)
•    Shawn Wharrey, a pre-med major from Mars (Mars Area High School)

Leadership Scholars

•    Kurt Bonnet, a business management major from Eighty Four (Canon-McMillan High School)
•    Benjamin Carpenter, a sports broadcasting and information major from Columbus (Corry Area High School)
•    Brandon Grainy, a history major from Harrison City (Penn-Trafford High School)
•    Jenna Griffith, a nursing major from Cambridge, Ohio (Cambridge High School)
•    Julianna Harpine, an athletic training major from Yardley (Pennsburg High School East)
•    Jordan Harvey, a mathematics secondary education major from Butler (Evangel Heights Christian Academy)
•    Lucas McCall, a biology secondary education major from Parker (Allegheny-Clarion Valley High School)
•    Matthew McNeil, a pre-med major from Pasadena, Calif. (Maranatha High School)
•    Adam Moses, a psychology major from Fairview Park, Ohio (Lutheran High School West)
•    Peter Olson, a religion and philosophy major from Ojai, Calif. (Villanova Preparatory School)
•    Rachel Reppert, a sociology major from Waynesburg (Monroe High School)
•    Emily Schubert, a psychology major from Medina, Ohio (Highland High School)
•    Corinne Sitler, a nursing major from Chochranton (Chochranton Junior-Senior High School)
•    Linzy Smith, a public relations major from North Parkersburg, W.Va. (Parkersburg High School)
•    Katlin Unrue, a nursing major from Uhrichsville, Ohio (Claymont High School)
•    Julia Warzinski, an early childhood and special education major from Venetia (Peters Township High School)

Stover Scholars for Constitutional Studies and Moral Leadership

•    Anthony Cooper, a sociology (pre-law) major from Lewisburg (Lewisburg Area High School)
•    Elizabeth Johnson, a history major from Brownsville (Brownsville Area Senior High School)  
•    Ryan Marshall, a sociology (pre-law) major from New Salem (Albert Gallatin Senior High School)
•    Zachary Mason, a history major from Waynesburg (Waynesburg Central High School)
•    Karen Moyer, a sociology (pre-law) major from Conneaut Lake (Conneaut Area Senior High School)
•    Zander Shashura, a business management major from Fredericktown (Bethlehem Center High School)
•    Jonathan Waldon, a sociology (political science) major from Carmel, Ind. (Carmel High School)


                                                                    # # #

Contact: Samantha McClintock, Communication Specialist
724.852.3384 or

Topics: Waynesburg University Charter, Charter Day news, Waynesburg University News