Current News

Horst reelected to Board of Trustees

Posted by Samantha McClintock on Mon, Jun 24, 2013 @ 10:06 AM

HorstDr. H. Mathilda Horst was reelected to the Waynesburg University Board of Trustees during the May 18, 2013 board meeting. Horst serves as the director of surgical intensive care and as the program director for the Surgical Care Fellowship at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit, Mich. Her three-year term will begin July 1, 2013.

“We are pleased to have Dr. Horst join the Waynesburg University Board of Trustees,” said Waynesburg University President Timothy R. Thyreen. “Her renowned contributions to the world of medicine, coupled with her dedication to advancing the mission of Waynesburg University, provide an excellent addition to the Board.”

Horst graduated from Waynesburg University in 1970 with a Bachelor of Science in biology. Shortly after, Horst attended Jefferson Medical College, from which she graduated in 1974. From Jefferson, she continued to further her education in Detroit where she believed she would become a family doctor, but soon learned her real love was surgery. 

In Detroit, Horst fulfilled her surgical medical residency and was part of the Vascular Surgery Fellowship at Henry Ford Hospital. Her specialized training in critical care took place at the University of Pittsburgh.

The acclaimed surgeon specializes in general surgery and trauma surgery. Her clinical and special medical interests include emergency surgery and the critical care of surgical patients.

In addition to a thriving career, Horst has served on the Waynesburg University Board of Trustees for much of the University’s recent history.  She served from 1997 to 2005, from 2007 to June of 2012 and now again in July of 2013.

Over the years, Horst has been distinguished in more ways than one. Her recognitions include the Society of Critical Care Medicine Distinguished Service Award in 2008, Chancellor of the American College of Critical Care Medicine in 2005, the Joseph L. Ponka Outstanding Surgical Teacher Award in 1989 and 2006, and in 2007 the Department of Surgery at Henry Ford Hospital named a room after Horst in the simulation center. In 1997, Horst was awarded the Shubin-Weil Award for Excellence in Critical Care, becoming the first female surgeon to receive the honor. In 1998, Waynesburg University honored Horst with the Margaret Bell Miller Award.

Horst has remained humble through multiple inspiring accomplishments and continues to grace Waynesburg University with her dedication, leadership and faith. She said that attending Waynesburg gave her “a strong foundation and the resources needed to succeed,” something she has not stopped doing since her graduation from the University in 1970.

“Dr. Horst continues to serve as an excellent example of what a Waynesburg University graduate can do in the medical field and in the world,” said Mr. Doug Lee, President Elect of Waynesburg University. “We’re proud to welcome her to the Board of Trustees.”

                                                                                     # # #

Contact: Samantha McClintock, Communication Specialist
724.852.3384 or

Topics: Trustee News, Dr. H. Mathilda Horst, Waynesburg University Trustee